. Dear followers we need your financial support to continue reporting you the voice of Christians in trouble. [Donate here]

Bill to increase minorities’ seats in Provincial and National assemblies tabled in NA


Pakistani Christian lawmaker Naveed Aamir Jeeva has tabled a bill to increase seats of minorities in the provincial and national assemblies. Pakistan People’s Party’s lawmaker expressed gratefulness to his party chairman, and other lawmakers who had supported him in this endeavor.

Minorities seats in National and provincial assemblies

The bill short titled The Constitution (Amendment) Act, 2018 got the nod of the National Assembly, MNA Naveed Aamir Jeeva shared in a social media post. The bill seeks amendments in Articles 51 and 106 of the Constitution of Pakistan.

Also Read: “I cant believe,” Asia Bibi’s reaction to SC verdict

The statement of Objects and reasons read: “The State is obliged to under the Constitution for the promotion and protection of rights and interests of Non-Muslims including their representation in the legislature. The Non-Muslim community strongly feels that they are under-representation, since no increase was made in their seats, as it was done for general seats, hence, their representation needs to be increased in the National Assembly and Provincial Assemblies.”

Read the constitutional amendment bill seeking increase in minorities’ representation in the national and provincial legislatures

Minorities seats in National Assembly of Pakistan

Minorities seats in legislatures of Pakistan

If the bill is approved for which a two-thirds majority is needed, the reserved seats for the non-Muslims in the National Assembly as well as all the four provincial assemblies in Punjab, Sindh, Balochistan and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Currently 10 minorities’ members are occupying minorities’ seats in the National Assembly. These include ruling party’s MNA Shula Ruth, MNA Lal Chand, MNA Ramesh Kumar Vankwani, MNA Jai Parkash, MNA Jamshed Thomas. PML-N’s MNA Dr. Drshan, MNA Kesoo Mal Kheeal Das. PPPP’s MNA Ramesh Lal, MNA Naveed Aamir Jeeva and MMAP’s MNA James Iqbal.