. Dear followers we need your financial support to continue reporting you the voice of Christians in trouble. [Donate here]

Religious Persecution – The World View


The U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom in its latest annual report highlighted 27 countries where minorities should be declared “viciously persecuted.”
Following is the list and a brief description.

Pakistan– Misuse of blasphemy law and not only the Christian minority but various other minorities within the region are persecuted.

Burma– The plight of the Rohingya is not unknown. No solid steps are being taken to curb the highest level of abuse man kind can face.

China– Christians continue to face arrests, fines, denials of justice, lengthy prison sentences, and in some cases, the closing or bulldozing of places of worship. Crosses are being removed from public place.

Eritrea– Practicing Christian faith is a crime in Eritrea and the government leaves no chance to arrest evangelists, religious prisoners face life sentences and death penalty.

Iran– since President Hassan Rouhani took oath, persecution has increased, and the government is engaged in systematic, prolonged torture and executions. American pastors and many others are imprisoned in Iran.

North Korea– With only a few churches, religious freedom is non existent. Christianity can only be practiced secretly.

Saudi Arabia– There is not even one church in the region. Worship is not allowed and any one who is caught practicing any other religion than Islam faces Shariah law.

Sudan– there is a very small Christian population and that also faces Islamization at the hands of the current government. Apostasy and conversions are not permitted.

Iraq– always in the headlines for Christian persecution, ISIS has snatched homes, churches and all Christian heritages from locals.

Turkmenistan– registered and unregistered minorities face persecution and religious liberty remains highly restricted.

  1. Burma
  2. China
  3. Eritrea
  4. Iran
  5. North Korea
  6. Saudi Arabia
  7. Sudan
  8. Turkmenistan
  9. Uzbekistan
  10. Central African Republic
  11. Egypt
  12. Iraq
  13. Nigeria
  14. Pakistan
  15. Syria
  16. Tajikistan
  17. Vietnam